Top Stories

Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons 2017 – Let the World Champ Race begin

Wer macht das Rennen 2017 - John John Florence, Gabriel Medina, Jordy Smith oder Julian Wilson

Heute ist der offizielle Start der Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons und somit das große Finale beim Rennen um den Weltmeistertitel. Mal wieder gibt es verschiedene Szenarios, wie das Rennen ausgehen könnte. Mit dabei sind noch John John Florence, Gabriel Medina, Jordy Smith und Julian Wilson.

So könnte es also laufen:
– Wenn JJF den ersten oder zweiten Platz belegt wird er World Champ
– Wenn er auf dem 3. Platz landet, muss Gabriel Medina den 1.Platz belegen um die Krone zu bekommen
– Wenn JJF auf Platz 5 landet, muss Medina auch auf dem ersten Platz landen um Weltmeister zu werden
– Wenn es Florence nur auf Platz 9 schafft, muss Medina mindestens 2. bei den Pipe Masters werden und Jordy Smith den Contest gewinnen
– Im Falle einer 13. oder 25 Platzes von JJF, braucht Medina einen 5. Platz, Jordy einen 2. Platz und Wilson den 1. Platz

Es wird also nicht leicht JJF an seinem Homespot die Krone noch zu nehmen.

“There’s definitely excitement and a little bit of pressure, but I’m more excited than anything. I think it’s going to be really cool. It’s such an awesome position to be in, going into this last event with four guys going for the world title race. Just to be a part of that, in that, and surfing my home break with that about to go down, it’s exciting. I’m going to go out there and I’m going to do my best. I’ve been surfing this wave since I was a little kid and I really enjoy being out there with no one out, so we’ll see what happens.” so Florence


Hier die ersten Heats:

Billabong Pipe Masters Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: 
Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 2: Owen Wright (AUS), Kanoa Igarashi (USA), Josh Kerr (AUS)
Heat 3: Julian Wilson (AUS), Conner Coffin (USA), Stuart Kennedy (AUS)
Heat 4: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Ethan Ewing (AUS)
Heat 5: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), TBD
Heat 6: John John Florence (HAW), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), TBD
Heat 7: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Caio Ibelli (BRA), Jack Freestone (AUS)
Heat 8: Kolohe Andino (USA), Joan Duru (FRA), Kelly Slater (USA)
Heat 9: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Michel Bourez (PYF), Ezekiel Lau (HAW)
Heat 10: Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Ian Gouveia (BRA)
Heat 11: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Connor O’Leary (AUS), Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA)
Heat 12: Mick Fanning (AUS), Frederico Morais (PRT), Italo Ferreira (BRA)


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.