CONTEST: Volcom Pipe Pro 2018 Update

Der zweite offizielle Contesttag des Volcom Pipe Pro 2018 wurde von Webcast Moderator Vaughan Blakey als “nuggetty, aggro little teepees” bezeichnet.

Der spannendste Heat ging an Anthony Walsh und Finn McGill, der mit seinem “Perfect 10” Score für ordentlich Wirbel sorgte. Finn kam top motiviert auf die Insel, nachdem er in Australien gerade den World Junior Championship gewonnen hatte.

“I feel like once you’re on a roll, you’re on a roll for a long time. Even if you do have one loss, it doesn’t matter that much you still feel like you’re on top of the world and you can do anything. I just feel that I’m on a roll right now and just feel really loose, going out into every heat I’m never nervous, it’s such a cool feeling.”


Im Rennen um die Qualifikation trafen O’Brien, Kalani Chapman und Derek Ho aufeinander. JOB ließ vor seiner Haustüre nichts anbrennen und schaffte es mit mehreren top Scores ins Hauptevent.

Hier der Recap des Tages:


Die Heats:

Round 3 (Round of 96) – 1st and 2nd advance, 3rd = 65th place, 4th = 81st place
H1: Joshua Burke (BRB), John Mel (USA), Kaito Kino, Matthew McGillivray (ZAF)
H2: Billy Kemper, Kyle Ramey, Liam O’Brien (AUS), Love Hodel
H3: Cody Young, Noa Mizuno, Makuakai Rothman, Skip McCullough (USA)
H4: Dwight Pastrana (USA), Manuel Selman (CHL), Ryland Rubens (USA), Facundo Arreyes (ARG)

Volcom Last Chance Qualifiers – 1st place advances into Round 3
1st: Jamie O’Brien (HAW)

Round 2 (Round of 128) – 1st and 2nd advance, 3rd = 97th, 4th = 113th
H3: Makuakai Rothman, Ryland Rubens, Miguel Blanco (PRT), Sean Woods (USA)
H4: Facundo Arreyes (ARG), Noa Mizuno, Jhonny Corzo (MEX), Christopher Kervin (USA)
H5: Evan Valiere, Alonso Correa (PER), Jason Shibata, Colt Ward (USA)
H6: Olamana Eleogram, Hank Gaskell, Kai Lenny, Kaimana Jaquias
H7: Ulualoha Napeahi, Jacome Correia (PRT), Martin Jeri (PER), Tristan Guilbaud (FRA)
H8: Yage Araujo (BRA), Luke Gordon (USA), Kainehe Hunt, Logan Bediamol
H9: Sunny Garcia, Harley Ross (AUS), Luke Shepardson, Kekoa Cazimero
H10: Joaquin Del Castillo (PER), Ian Walsh, Andrew Jacobson (USA), Joh Azuchi (JPN)
H11: Finn McGill, Anthony Walsh, Charly Quivront (FRA), Gabriel Morvil (USA)
H12: Koa Rothman, Brent Dorrington (AUS), Ezra Sitt, Kade Matson (USA)
H13: Keijiro Nishi (JPN), Lahiki Minamishen, Jake Kelley (USA), Bruce Irons
H14: Eithan Osborne (USA), Riley Laing (AUS), Eliott Napias (PYF), Eli Olson
H15: Kalani David, Noah Beschen, Keoni Yan, Cory Arrambide (USA)
H16: O’Neill Massin (PYF), Danny Fuller, Adrian Garcia, Shaun Burns (USA)


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.